Prescott Hotel enjoys a rich and colorful history, starting with the marriage of two historic buildings into one guest experience.
The primary building was built in 1913 as the Cecil Hotel. It was a welcome retreat for those still left homeless by the earthquake a few years earlier. During the famed roaring 20's, the Cecil's ballroom had an alter ego as a speakeasy. The other building, of which only the top floors are used, was the former Press Club of San Francisco - home to a vibrant collective of journalists and writers. The lower floors are now occupied by a public relations agency.
True to the secrecy of the speakeasy and exclusive nature of the Press Club, Prescott Hotel today is still a very private escape from public San Francisco.